Currency, Passport & Visas for Greece

Image Gallery

Find out information about currency, passport and visa requirements for Greece

Greece is a Schengen Treaty member. This means that EEC citizens can use their ID cards instead of other travel documents to visit the country.

However, passports are required for other activities, such as currency conversion, air travel within Greece, or credit card verification. For citizens from countries that are not signatories of the Schengen Treaty, a visa is required and can be obtained locally. More information is available at Greek embassies and consulates, or from your travel agent. Visas are not required for bearers of valid passports from the following countries that are planning to stay in Greece for less than 90 days:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Holy See (Vatican City), Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, USA, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Available on AppStore Available on AppStore Available on AppStore Get it on Google play